Alumni-Supported Information Technology Scholarships Awarded to Nine Hawkeye Community College Students

posted on Thursday, February 22, 2018 in  College News

Hawkeye Community College Information Technology Scholarship recipients. Front (L to R): Kyle Eldridge, Ryan Groah, Soe Soe, Komivi Amekedzi. Back: Steve McFarlane, Brian Werner, Seth Modderman, Levi Toftey. Not pictured: Amanda Osborn. 

WATERLOO–Nine students in the Hawkeye Community College information technology programs recently received scholarships thanks to the generosity of college alumni.

Second-year students in the Network Administration and Engineering and Information Systems Management programs, as well as instructors Todd Bengen and Chad Dean, hosted an alumni reunion on April 21, 2017, that included a meal, games, and socializing. It also served as a fundraiser for scholarships, raising more than $4,600.

Those scholarships were awarded in January of this year to nine second-year students: Steve MacFarlane, Oelwein; Brian Werner, Evansdale; Seth Modderman, Cedar Falls; Levi Toftey, Belmond; Kyle Eldridge, Jesup; Ryan Groah, Clarksville; Soe Soe, Waterloo; Komivi Amekedzi, Waterloo; and Amanda Osborn, Cedar Rapids.

Scholarships are awarded through the Hawkeye Community College Foundation. For more information on supporting this and other scholarship funds, contact the foundation at 319-296-4002 or visit


  1. Alumni
  2. Hawkeye Community College Foundation
  3. Information Systems Management
  4. Information Technology
  5. Network Administration and Engineering
  6. Scholarships
Back to top