Hispanic American Heritage Month

September 15 to October 15 is National Hispanic American Heritage Month and an opportunity for the Hawkeye campus community to learn more about Hispanic and Latino history, celebrate diversity, and consider ways to contribute to create a more inclusive society.

About National Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic American Heritage Month “…traditionally honors the cultures and contributions of both Hispanic and Latino Americans as we celebrate heritage rooted in all Latin American countries. During this month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and our partners, share history, heritage, and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latino Americans of past and present.” (National Hispanic American Heritage Month website)

Hispanic refers to a person who is from, or a descendant of someone who is from, a Spanish-speaking country — the term is about language. Spanish is the official language of the following 20 countries, as well as Puerto Rico: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Latino/a/x refers to a person who is from, or a descendant of someone who originated from a country in Latin America: Mexico in North America; Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama in Central America; Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Chile, Argentina and Uruguay in South America; and Cuba, Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean.

Campus Resources

Community Resources

Resources and Events

Contact Information

Diversity and Inclusion


Rhonda McRina
Hawkeye Center 232
Email Rhonda McRina

Back to top