Teaching Online

Online/Hybrid Academic Standards

A separate online/hybrid evaluation form identifies specific criteria to measure each standard below.

Standards proposed February 2014.

I. Course Design

Learning Outcomes

  1. Course objectives, learning outcomes, and assessment/grading criteria are clearly stated and consistent with the course guide in CurricUNET.

  2. No academic distinction is made between online/hybrid courses and face-to-face courses. The same learning outcomes will be achieved regardless of modality.

B. Course is designed in accordance with the Seven Principles of Good Practice in Education.
C. Course makes use of multiple and varied supplemental resources that enhance instruction and contribute to attainment of the course objectives.
D. Course materials comply with copyright law and fair use guidelines.
II. Technology
A. Technical requirements are clearly explained in multiple areas of the course.
B. Technology facilitates learning and communication within Hawkeye’s Learning Management System (LMS).
C. Course applies principles of best practice in web design and accessibility.
D. Course technologies are current and readily accessible unless required for the course as indicated on the syllabus or otherwise provided.
E. Tools and software used in the course are accessible to students with disabilities.
III. Instructional Strategies
A. Course encourages interaction through:
  1. Defining student participation.

Incorporating a variety of modes of interaction

  1. Fostering student-to-student communication
  2. Providing multiple opportunities for student-instructor interaction
  3. Engaging students with the course content
B. Course gives clearly defined criteria for assignments by:
  1. Communicating expectations for assignments.
  2. Listing due dates in multiple locations.
  3. Stating a reasonable time frame for receiving instructor feedback.
  4. Providing resources, tools, and techniques to engage students in critical thinking.
  5. Online and face-to-face activities in a hybrid course are clearly delineated and coordinated.
IV. Assessment Strategies
A. Provides multiple methods of assessment.
B. Encourages opportunities for students to self-evaluate.
C. Formulates and communicates grading/assessment criteria to students such as rubrics, list of criteria and expectations.
D. Provides opportunities to obtain student feedback on processes and assignments such as what's working or not working for them, suggestions, etc.
V. Learner Support
A. Course provides educational support through:
  1. Access to Library.
  2. Access to academic support resources.
  3. Appropriate instructor contact information.
  4. Access to the institution’s accessibility policies and services.
B. Course provides technical support through: 
  1. Helpdesk link.
  2. Assistance to students for acquiring course-specific tools, plug-ins and players etc., not included with CMS.
  3. LMS tutorial for students.


Brobst Center for Teaching and Learning Services

Tama Hall 107, 109, 110, 125
319-296-4018 (fax)
Email us

Mon-Fri 8:00am-4:30pm

Learning Lab

Tama Hall 109

Digital Resource Lab

Tama Hall 109A

Brobst Center Staff